Weston International Award

Rewarding excellence in nonfiction writing on the global stage.


Nonfiction that broadens global perspectives.

The Weston International Award is administered by Writers’ Trust of Canada to elevate nonfiction writing on the global stage.

The award honours career achievement of an international author whose body of nonfiction work, written in English or widely available in translation, has advanced our understanding of the world.


Eligibility Criteria
  • Eligible authors will have published at least three books of outstanding literary merit in the genre of nonfiction. Literary nonfiction includes, among other forms, works of personal or journalistic essays, memoirs, commentary, criticism both social and political, history, and biography.  
  • Authors who are eligible for the $75,000 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction are not eligible for the Weston International Award. 
  • Work must be written in English or widely available in translation.
  • There is no submission process.

Committee & Jury

International Advisory Committee

A committee of three distinguished nonfiction writers will create a longlist of authors for consideration by the jury. The committee is appointed for a three-year term.

Jury Members

A jury of five distinguished Canadian nonfiction authors read works by the longlisted candidates to select a prize winner. This jury is convened annually.

For the inaugural prize in 2023, the jurors are:

Writers’ Trust of Canada

About Writers’ Trust

Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to support and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs including 12 literary awards, financial grants, career development initiatives for emerging writers, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers.

Learn about Canadian writers and writing at writerstrust.com