Weston International Award

Nonfiction that broadens global perspectives.

The Weston International Award honours career achievement in nonfiction writing. Each year, a winner will be selected based on a body of nonfiction work that, in the opinion of the jury, demonstrates excellence in the field and has advanced our understanding of the world.

The winner receives $75,000 and will appear at an event in Toronto the same year. Works must be written in English or widely available in translation. The award is administered by Writers’ Trust of Canada, a charitable organization that supports and celebrates Canadian authors across genres and at all stages of their career. 

A companion prize, the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction annually awards $75,000 to a Canadian author for a single work of nonfiction and an additional $20,000 to its four finalists. Collectively, the two Weston awards will deliver more than $230,000 in direct support to writers each year. Writers’ eligibility is limited to one prize. 

By elevating world-class nonfiction and celebrating its creators, the award encourages shared literary values that promote truth, accuracy, and authentic argument and narrative both within Canada and across national divides.

Winners of the Weston International Award are selected following a peer-review process. A three-person international advisory committee of distinguished authors creates a longlist of writers for consideration by a five-person Canadian jury, which selects the winner. Only the name of the winner will be made public.

Discover Canadian writers and writing on our website or follow @writerstrust on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Eligibility Criteria
  • Eligible authors will have published at least three books of outstanding literary merit in the genre of nonfiction. Literary nonfiction includes, among other forms, works of personal or journalistic essays, memoirs, commentary, criticism both social and political, history, and biography. 
  • Authors who are eligible for the $75,000 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction are not eligible for the Weston International Award. 
  • Work must be written in English or widely available in translation.
  • There is no submission process.


The Hilary and Galen Weston Foundation

The Hilary and Galen Weston Foundation contributes to charities whose bold ideas shape a better future for everyone.

The Foundation has committed $1.5 million in funding to Writers’ Trust of Canada over the course of three years to elevate and embolden nonfiction writers at home and abroad.